Monarch Headlines Fall16

The Worst President in Historypresident
The Legacy of Barack Obama

Authors: Matt Margolis, Mark Noonan
The Worst President in History: The Legacy of Barack Obama compiles two hundred inconvenient truths about Obama’s presidency—the facts that define his legacy: his real impact on the economy, the disaster that is Obamacare, his shocking abuses of taxpayer dollars, his bitterly divisive style of governing, his shameless usurping of the Constitution, his many scandals and cover-ups, his policy failures at home and abroad, the unprecedented expansion of government power . . . and more.

The Mind-Gut Connection
Author: Emeran Mayer, MD

The Mind-Gut Connection shows how to keep the brain-gut communication clear and balanced to heal the gut, boost immunity and mood, promote weight loss, prevent disease, and much more.
Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, this practical guide in the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and body.

evening primroseEvening Primrose
Author: Kopano Matlwa

This book depicts the journey of a young woman navigating family and career in postapartheid South Africa within the lingering xenophobia of the culture. Narrated in the first person, Evening Primrose follows Masechaba, a young woman who achieves her childhood dream of becoming a doctor, yet soon faces the stark reality of working in an under-resourced state hospital. As Masechaba leaves her deeply religious mother, she tries to come to terms with the death of her brother and the suffering she witnesses every day as a medical professional.

Let’s Tell This Story Properly
Author: Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

How far does one have to travel to find home elsewhere? The stories in Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi’s collection attempt to measure that distance. Centered on the lives of Ugandans in Britain, Let’s Tell This Story Properly features characters both hypervisible and unseen: they take jobs at airport security, care for the elderly, and work in hospitals, while remaining excluded from white British life. As they try to find their place, they drift from a home that feels further and further away. An ambitious collection by the critically acclaimed author of Kintu, Let’s Tell This Story Properly explores what happens to those who leave.

The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology that Fuel
Success and Performance at Work
Author: Shawn Achor

Shawn Achor, who spent over a decade living, researching, and lecturing at Harvard University, draws on his own research—including one of the largest studies of happiness and potential at Harvard and at large companies like UBS and KPMG—to share strategies for how to fix this broken formula in The Happiness Advantage. Using case studies from his work with thousands of Fortune 500 executives in 42 countries, Achor explains how we can reprogram our brains to become more positive, and ultimately more successful at work.