Authors: Winter 2024

Monarch Book Recommendations

Of Greed and Glory

Of Greed and Glory by Deborah G. Plant is a riveting exploration of human nature, ambition, and the consequences of unchecked desires. Plant crafts a compelling narrative that follows characters navigating a world driven by greed and the pursuit of glory. With vivid prose and well-developed characters, the author delves into the complexities of power dynamics and the moral dilemmas faced by those on their quest for success. The novel captivates readers with its rich storytelling and thought-provoking themes, offering a nuanced reflection on the darker aspects of human behavior. Plant’s keen insights into the human psyche make Of Greed and Glory a thought-provoking and immersive read.

This is the Honey

This Is the Honey by Kwame Alexander is a poetic masterpiece that weaves together the sweet and bitter threads of life. Alexander’s compelling verses create a rhythmic dance that resonates with readers while exploring themes of love, loss, and resilience. The author’s unique blend of words paints a vivid tapestry of emotions, inviting readers to savor the beauty and complexities of existence. With each poem, Alexander skillfully captures moments of joy and heartache, leaving an indelible mark on the soul. This Is the Honey is a celebration of the human experience wrapped in the honeyed warmth of Alexander’s eloquent and evocative language.

You Get What You Pay for

Morgan Parker’s You Get What You Pay For is a captivating exploration of contemporary life and the complexities of human connection. With raw and unapologetic prose, Parker delves into the intricacies of identity, love, and societal expectations. The collection of poems tackles issues such as race, gender, and power dynamics, offering a poignant commentary on the world we inhabit. Parker’s distinctive voice shines through, blending humor, vulnerability, and sharp observation. The poems are a dynamic mix of introspection and social critique, challenging readers to confront uncomfortable truths. You Get What You Pay For is a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant work that leaves a lasting impact.

I Did a New Thing

Tabitha Brown’s I Did a New Thing is a refreshing and empowering guide to embracing change and pursuing personal growth. Brown, known for her positivity and authenticity, shares insightful anecdotes and practical advice, encouraging readers to step out of their comfort zones. The book is a delightful blend of motivational storytelling and actionable tips, making it accessible and relatable. Brown’s infectious enthusiasm and genuine warmth shine through, creating a supportive and uplifting atmosphere. I Did a New Thing is a beacon of encouragement for anyone seeking inspiration to navigate life’s transitions with resilience and joy. Brown’s narrative style makes the journey toward self-discovery both engaging and rewarding.

And Then We Rise

And Then We Rise: A Guide to Loving and Taking Care of Self by Common is a transformative journey into self-discovery and self-love. Through poignant reflections and practical insights, Common serves as a compassionate guide encouraging readers to prioritize their well-being. The book explores the intricate layers of personal growth, offering a roadmap to navigate challenges and embrace one’s authentic self. Common’s wisdom, drawn from his own experiences as an artist and activist, infuses the pages with sincerity. With a perfect blend of vulnerability and empowerment, And Then We Rise emerges as an indispensable companion for those seeking a holistic approach to self-care and a deeper connection with themselves.